STEFAN BOTEZ AA 21-22

BIO

Stefan, is post-communism, post-capitalism, post-apocalypse. His camera is a blue light on the ruins.

Framing on the debris of a giant collapsed statue, its pieces in the swamp, its marble flesh, under the trees that bend the light. Focus on the algae and lichens that crawl over the granite, clinging to the rough surface to create a new skin. Focus on the nodules of lichens, rootless plants that grow out of dust, yet reach back in time.

Stefan creates space-time, in which he tries on human bodies, pursues eternal fantasies. Ogres of fairy tales, heroes of myths, kings of legends, sages of songs, left behind. Boys wearing their mother’s clothes, teenagers emperors of the universe. Adults with ebony hair, old men dancing under the trees. Images that melt under a too brief light.

Stefan Botez is a visual artist who primarily uses video. Other practices surface in his work, such as performance, installation, drawing and photography. Trained in architecture in Bucharest and in visual arts at HEAD, his interests revolve around gender, masculinity and desire. He sees his video practice as a documentary practice that questions voyeurism, but also tries to find the narrative in the document. At L’Abri, he intends to develop his practice by investigating the relationship between video and performance, and experiment with curatorial practices. His work has been exhibited at MNAC Bucharest, Kunstraum Walcheturm Zurich, HAU Berlin and others.

VOIR LES AUTRES AA 21-22

X

STEFAN BOTEZ AA 21-22

BIO

Stefan, c’est le post-communisme, le post-capitalisme, le post-apocalypse. Sa caméra, c’est une lumière bleue sur les ruines.

Cadrage sur les débris d’une statue géante effondrée, ses morceaux dans le marais, sa chair de marbre, sous les arbres qui penchent la lumière. Focus sur les algues et lichens qui rampent sur le granit, s’accrochent à la surface rugueuse pour lui créer une nouvelle peau. Zoom sur les nodules des lichens, ces plantes sans racines qui naissent de la poussière, et pourtant remontent les époques.

Stefan crée des espaces-temps, dans lesquels il essaie des corps d’homme, poursuit les fantasmes éternels. Ogres des contes, héros des mythes, rois des légendes, sages des chants, laissés-pour-compte. Des garçons portent les habits de leur mère, des ados empereurs de l’univers. Des adultes à la chevelure d’ébène, des vieillards dansent sous les arbres. Des images qui fondent sous une lumière trop brève.

 

Stefan Botez est un artiste visuel qui se sert principalement de la vidéo. D’autres pratiques font surface dans son travail, comme la performance, l’installation, le dessin et la photographie. Formé en architecture à Bucarest et en arts visuels à la HEAD, ses intérêts s’articulent autour du genre, de la masculinité, du désir. Il envisage sa pratique vidéo comme une pratique documentaire qui interroge le voyeurisme, mais essaie aussi de trouver le narratif dans le document. À L’Abri, il compte développer sa pratique en investiguant les relations entre vidéo et performance, et expérimenter avec des pratiques curatoriales. Son travail a été exposé notamment au MNAC Bucarest, au Kunstraum Walcheturm Zurich, et à HAU, Berlin.

VOIR LES AUTRES AA 21-22

X